PHONES Honor X9e s launches with 8,560mAh battery and Snapdragon 6 Gen 4 for around $400 SOFTWARE AND UPDATES Apple MacBook Pro OLED launch drives 40% surge in global laptop shipments GAMES Acer G710 gaming tablet launches in China with 165Hz 3K display and 5G for $614 PHONES Honor X8e packs 7,700mAh battery and IP69K rating in $483 smartphone DLSS Phantom Blade Zero renders at 85% resolution by default, causing blurry visuals GAMES Sega reveals Virtua Fighter Crossroads fighter Lionel Rafale, claims he can defeat protagonist Cielo PLAYSTATION 5 Resonance of Fate Enhanced Remaster adds 2x speed mode and upscaled textures to PS5 and PC PHONES Oppo Reno 17 5G Rumored to Pack 7,000mAh Battery as Global Launch Nears ANDROID OnePlus Ace 7 Pro outsells predecessor by 125% in first sales period PHONES Samsung Galaxy S27 Base Model Stuck at 25W Charging, No Speed Upgrade GAMES Netflix to Adapt PUBG into Live-Action Series with Donald Glover as Lead PHONES Oppo Find X10 gets Forest Green color refresh, priced from around $823 in China STEAM Gears of War: E-Day Reportedly Moves 400,000 Copies in Launch Window ROG ALLY X Blizzard reportedly preparing World of Warcraft: Forever with native gamepad support for consoles and handhelds

Donut Lab Solid-State Battery Claims Disputed by Independent Experts

Owen Carter 2 min read

Finnish startup Donut Lab claims a miracle solid-state battery, but independent tests show only 298 Wh/kg density. Experts say it is standard lithium-ion.

Donut Lab Donut Lab
PC HARDWARE

Finnish startup Donut Lab claims to have developed a solid-state battery that charges from zero to eighty percent in five minutes and lasts for over one hundred thousand cycles. Independent experts and YouTube researcher Ziroth now say the product is actually a conventional lithium-ion cell with misleading marketing. Following CES 2026, the Finnish startup achieved a $1.25 billion valuation amid significant doubt regarding its advertised battery capabilities.

Independent experts and researchers allege the Finnish startup's solid-state battery is actually a conventional lithium-ion cell with misleading marketing.

Donut Lab advertises an energy density of four hundred watt-hours per kilogram for its solid-state battery. Independent testing shows the actual energy density reaches only two hundred ninety-eight watt-hours per kilogram. The company has not disclosed full details on how it constructs the internal components, so the exact design will remain unclear until the product ships.

The startup claims the battery supports a service life of over one hundred thousand charging cycles and fills from zero to eighty percent in five minutes. Experts examined the physical cell and concluded that Donut Lab's solid-state battery is in fact just a conventional lithium-ion battery. The tested energy density matches only two hundred ninety-eight watt-hours per kilogram, which contradicts the advertised four hundred watt-hours per kilogram.

Independent analysts and YouTube researcher Ziroth suggest that promotional content inaccurately describes the battery's actual chemical composition. Despite broad skepticism concerning its performance assertions, the firm secured a $1.25 billion valuation after CES 2026. The precise internal construction of the battery will remain unclear until delivery, keeping its actual technological makeup unconfirmed.

The startup aims to enter the solid-state battery sector by promising rapid charging and extended lifespan, claims that independent observers are now challenging. Following CES 2026, the Finnish startup achieved a $1.25 billion valuation amid significant doubt regarding its advertised battery capabilities. Independent analysts and YouTube researcher Ziroth suggest that promotional content inaccurately describes the battery's actual chemical composition.

Donut Lab claims to have developed a solid-state battery that charges from zero to eighty percent in five minutes and lasts for over one hundred thousand cycles. Independent testing shows the actual energy density reaches only two hundred ninety-eight watt-hours per kilogram. The company has not disclosed full details on how it constructs the internal components, so the exact design will remain unclear until the product ships.

Source: NotebookCheck