Nintendo is about to make a huge change to the way users log in to their accounts. One that does away with a couple big and convenient login cheats. As of January 26, 2027, Nintendo will no longer support the use of Google and Apple accounts as login for Nintendo Accounts.
Switch owners must update login methods before the authentication deadline
This change will impact everyone with a Nintendo Switch 2, Nintendo Switch, Switch Lite or Switch OLED. Don't procrastinate. You need to do something now to protect access to your game libraries and saves.
- Sign-in Method Removal: Google and Apple accounts
- Affected Hardware: Nintendo Switch 2, Nintendo Switch, Switch Lite, Switch OLED
- Retired Feature: My Nintendo mission for Platinum Points
It's not a hardware change. It's a change to the authentication for Nintendo Accounts. After January 26, 2027, you won't be able to associate, login or create new accounts using Google and Apple.
So goodbye convenient shortcuts to login using your Google or Apple credentials. There's a direct statement from Nintendo Support confirming the date it's being discontinued.
My Nintendo mission that gave you Platinum Points when you linked your Google account will be discontinued. By the way, it might be a little later than this exact time, according to Nintendo's system work progress. If you're using email for login, you'd better check that out before the changeover.
If you don't have a normal password, you'll need to take the 'Forgot your password?' route to get back in. If you're using Apple 'Hide My Email' you'll need to adjust your settings to make sure they can reach your main email. Nintendo's cutting down on how you authenticate.
The only options are your password or some other supported logins. This is being done for all current and prior Switch generations. The hardware.
Source: NotebookCheck



Good riddance. Passwords are safer and you do not need a third party to log into your console.
what happens to my saves if i use apple hide my email and dont switch before jan 26 2027?
You lose access to the account entirely. You have to reset the password via the recovery link before the cutoff date or the data is locked.